Read all about the BNC Awards!

Hub pic1.JPG

On July 2nd, we held our seventh annual Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony... this year, the event went online!

The ceremony was a little different this year. Usually, we celebrate the work of the teachers and students in the Burnet News Club at Buckingham Palace. This year, due to the COVID-19 restrictions, we took the festivities online and hosted a virtual ceremony instead. Awards were presented to sixteen outstanding students, plus...

We heard from...

  • memorable_orchard talking about their favourite Issue...
  • ...intrepid_hurricane shared what being in the club means to them....
  • ...and twins versatile_molecule and genuine_cat told us what happens when disagreement about the news happens under the same roof!

10 schools were shortlisted for School of the Year:

  • Arnhem Wharf Primary School
  • Birchwood C of E Primary School
  • Brompton Westbrook Primary School
  • Faringdon Community College
  • Graveney School
  • Hammond Junior School
  • Lyons Hall Primary School
  • Michael Faraday School
  • Noel Park Primary School
  • The Sherwood School

And four teachers were nominated for Teacher of the Year:

  • Mr. Short at The Sherwood School
  • Ms. Melvin at Hillyfield Primary Academy
  • All the teachers at Hammond Junior School (joint nomination)
  • Ms. Sheikh at Preston Manor School

Comments (9)

You must be logged in to post a comment